Search Unity

1. If you have experience with import & exporting custom (.unitypackage) packages, please help complete a survey (open until May 15, 2024).
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Drag drop objects and detect collision

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Pixitales, Mar 24, 2019.

1. Pixitales

Pixitales

This is a top down 2D buiding game. Kinda like Sims builder. You buy furniture and decorate the interior of your house. I am a beginner with mostly copy/paste codes and made a few unique codes on my own.

I have 2 tables and a character(player) in the scene. All of them has a rigidbody2D and a collider2D attach to them. I want to move the table to a different place in game. When I drag the table on top of another table or player, it just pushes the other table and player back because of physics and mass. All the furnitures needs to have the same rigidbody and collider.

How do i prevent 2 or more of the same objects pushing each other when they collide with one of another? Are the other ways of detecting collisions without using a rigidbody?

Last edited: Mar 24, 2019
  2. zioth

zioth

You could disable the collider while you're dragging, or turn on the "trigger" flag while dragging. With "trigger" on, you'll be able to detect collisions using OnTriggerEnter2D, OnTriggerExit2D and OnTriggerStay2D, but nothing will happen automatically. Everything will be controlled by your code.

("code" is both singular and plural, by the way. It's not "codes." Same goes for "furniture." Just some unasked for and probably unwanted extra information :) ).

3. zioth

zioth