Search Unity

1. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity is excited to announce that we will be collaborating with TheXPlace for a summer game jam from June 13 - June 19. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice

Don't Get Raped released!

Discussion in 'Made With Unity' started by KnifeFightBob, Oct 27, 2010.

1. KnifeFightBob

KnifeFightBob

Just writing to say my game is out.
    I'm an indie dev (one man) who is doing art/critical/serious games with a special interest in issues of perceptions, politics and the future of gaming, in general.

Read the press release
    Download the game at Propaganda Bureau

The game includes an artist's statement, which might be an interesting read.

2. xomg

xomg

Forgive me for saying this and for ignoring the deliberately controversial title and design of this game, but this all sounds massively pretentious to me. I'm naturally dubious of anything that calls itself "art", or of any game that neglects gameplay for some kind of "message". I'm always keen to see games extend the boundaries of our favourite form of media, and I've been playing them for 20 years now and am constantly amazed with the creativity that continues to shine through out of the mess of generic garbage. I'm not sure I see that here, though.

I do understand the statement you're trying to make with this, and I do understand that paranoia fuels a lot of the evils in society and serves as a misdirection from real issues, but.. seriously, an on-rails shooter called "Don't get Raped"? It just sounds like a cry for attention. Judged on the gameplay alone it's awful. You don't need to make a bad on-rails shooter to point out how crap these type of games are, as everybody knows that already.