Search Unity

Dedicated Server: Planning and architecture

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by Spartikus3, Feb 10, 2018.

1. Spartikus3

Spartikus3

Good afternoon my fellow Unitarians!

Over the last 2 decades I have spent many years working on game engines, working with professional MMO development companies and dabling in my own indie game and asset development. It has been... going on 6 years or more since I've made a truely concerted effort to get back into game development. I generally look for pivot points in the market toolsets available for expediting and cutting development costs and lifecycle to see if it is worth coming back.

I am not a Unity novice, I did some indie work in in 5-6 years ago when it was first coming out. That being said, the explosion of assets (yes some better than others) in the community, the third party tools available and most importantly the ability to integrate with some of the most powerful hosting services (Azure and AWS most notably) have really got my attention. Any monies I can save up front I can use to pay contributing developers or buy additional content.

Based on my recent dabling in the mobile platforms, and the somewhat surprising marginal mainstream success for AlbionOnline I am going to dip my toes back into the development space and was hoping to get some answers from people much more experienced than myself on the right places to look for starting points.

I love server architecture and database design. I have been doing it professionally for over 25 years. I am a network/communications geek and my company is currently under contract to develop communications and VPN solutions for major energy sector networks across North America. What would be great is if someone could vette my old concepts, let me know if they are still on track and what, if any, changes I should plan for cloud enabled solutions.

Overview: (Not debating the merits or risks of these concepts they are simply quick and easy to develop)