Search Unity

Database Buckets - Creation a Character His Owner (Simple Question)

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by Vire, Jan 27, 2014.

1. Vire

Vire

Hi there, I've spent the past week or so developing a server and have learned so much and got farther than I could have hoped for (this is my first time), but since I lack any form of foundation sometimes it's the simple stuff that escapes me. As is the case here. I have read a lot online but it's all concepts unrelated to this.

This is not an MMO but the architecture is virtually the same, minus the chained servers (zoned instances running on nodes).

The question is how do I connect the character to the owner? I need the bucket with the character "Bob" for example to be owned by the account "Billy".

I have a bucket "Accounts" for the accounts, it will contain:

- Username ("Billy" for the example)
    - Email
    - Password
    - CharacterLimit (included because different users will have different limits)

I have another bucket "Characters" for the characters, it will contain:

- Name (of character - this is "Bob" for the example)
    - Guild
    - Class
    - Level

Will also have another for inventory/shared stash, and I need the stash owned by the account and the inventory owned by the character.

If I had all these characters in a bucket "Characters" with an another attribute "Owner", then I would have to search the entire database and pull up everything with the "Owner" attribute. This seems extremely bad from a logical standpoint. So do I need a bucket eg ( string bucketName = "character-info" + Owner; )for each account and tie that bucket to the "Owner", in which case it'd have far less iterations to do, but assuming the game has an adequate number of players it could still be inefficient.

What is the best course of action?

2. ardo314

ardo314

From the word bucket i guess that you are using NoSQL.

I didnt yet use it but with normal SQL databases my approach was to have a 'id' column