Search Unity

Feedback Custom scene management

Discussion in 'Netcode for GameObjects' started by nuwn, Jan 8, 2023.

1. nuwn

nuwn

Hi!

Love to see netcode being made and supported, waited long for it.
    Guess I have some feedback/questions/searching for advice...

----- Should be worth mentioning that I am not very experienced in networking, So I might be completely off but I am ready to learn. Should also be noted that I'm on 1.2.0 as of writing this.

So I've been spending some time looking into custom scene management, and this seems not fully supported yet. Unless you use Netcodes ways to handle scene management and syncing, etc. Or making a custom Networkmanager, spawn, sync, and all those from scratch, which is a lot of work.
    Would like to avoid having to clone netcode git to the project to be able to turn things off.

For example:

If I wish to load a scene as I connected, and have people late join, the current NetworkManager as of row 2244, forces a sync, so before clients join, it syncs objects and all objects will be deleted when I sync the next scene causing a lot of errors for all in-scene objects, which again forces you to use netcodes things or rebuild as stated previously. So connecting in the main menu and loading a lobby scene when connected is not a thing currently, (I think), if the lobby has in-scene objects. For this example it was made without using the methods in the network scene manager, after all, I'm looking to make a custom one. Opening a scene in additive and then having to move objects spawned to a new scene seems very inefficient. Maybe I'm missing something, please fill me in.

Sure all can be rebuilt to fit one's needs, but there are a lot of cool things in netcode that would be awesome to still be able to access if one were to rebuild it, but it's all hidden behind internal, what if I wanted to make a custom NetworkManager but still use the network spawn manager? Why can't I do that?