Search Unity

Third Party Custom Character Photon Transform View

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by ZarkaOui, Apr 29, 2021.

1. ZarkaOui

ZarkaOui

Hello guys !!

//Context :
    It's my first time posting on this forum so I really don't know what to expect. Thanks for reading about my issue that I'll try to describe in the most easy way.

So, I wanted to prototype some very simple multiplayer game using Photon (I'm new at everything : Unity/Photon/coding).
    What I did then is watch a loooot of Youtube content (thx Brackeys and Infogamer) and try to give a shot.

//My issue :

I created a basic "Robot" character made of empty GameObject and some Cubes as follows :
    RobotPrefab.jpg

As you can see, I attached 3 scripts :
    - "Brackeys Player Movement" will only move the character using the built-in CharacterController component from Unity
    - "Character Rotation" will just rotate the body like a robot, a bit asynched just like when you perform a robot dance with your mates :)
    - "Random Colors" that will just setup random colors to all the parts of the Robot.

Everything is working fine locally.
    Theeeeen, I wanted this to be a multiplayer character hahahah ! What a fool...

I'm using Photon PUN 2 so I attached a "PhotonView" on the root of the prefab (GameObject named "Robot").

But here is the result when I instantiate it on other clients :
    RobotInMultiplayerScene.jpg
    Note : the editor is showing what I expected to be in-game !!! Holly molly

I tried to add "Photon Transform Views" on every GameObject composing the Robot but the result is the same. It's not showing antennas/arms/legs and so on, only the head and torso :'(...

I don't understand why... Is it a normal behavior ? What am I missing ?

Also, here is the piece of code used to instantiate it through the network :
    Code (CSharp):
    1. using Photon.Pun;
    2. using System.Collections;
    3. using System.Collections.Generic;
    4. using System.IO;