Search Unity

1. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity is excited to announce that we will be collaborating with TheXPlace for a summer game jam from June 13 - June 19. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice

Creating a game without a GDD

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Duskling, Aug 5, 2012.

1. Duskling

Duskling

Howdy!

For about a month now I have been developing a game without a GDD. I have tried to write one, but I am just not a designer at heart. Is this bad practice? I mean, I have a vision of what I want, and I am working towards that, but will people take me seriously if I do not have a GDD?

Whenever I attempt to write a GDD, I just run out of things to say. Within the first page, I have described the games base mechanics and my vision for the game, and then I don't have much to talk about.

2. Morning

Morning

If you're working alone it's optional. I did write a GDD just so I don't forget things later. GDD is very important when working in a team though.
    GDD is meant to pass the idea to others working on the project.

3. Khyrid

Khyrid

It may depend on what kind of game you're making also. If it's very simple or something you have done before, then you can get away without a GDD. If it is fairly complex I recommend some way of writing down your plan and a GDD is important. Even a basic checklist is better than nothing.

4. Moonjump

Moonjump

You have done a GDD. You have covered everything you feel you need to in 1 page, so it doesn't need to be any longer.