Search Unity

Client and server use same camera

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by zoelee, Jun 27, 2017.

  1. zoelee

    zoelee

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2015
    Posts:
    3
    I have a player with a camera attached to it as a child. When I start the server, the player spawns and it works perfectly. Then when a client joins the server it spawns another player, however both the host and the client can only see out of the client's camera. I am wondering what a good fix for this might be.

    I know that two players spawn, both the host and the client can only control their player. The controls and movement are working.
     
  2. TwoTen

    TwoTen

    Joined:
    May 25, 2016
    Posts:
    1,168
    if(!isLocalPlayer)
    camera.enabled = false;
     
  3. zoelee

    zoelee

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2015
    Posts:
    3
    Thanks for your help, but `isLocalPlayer` always returns true.
     
  4. LaneFox

    LaneFox

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Posts:
    7,536
    If you're asking on the local player, then it should.
     
  5. TwoTen

    TwoTen

    Joined:
    May 25, 2016
    Posts:
    1,168
    On the remote clients it should return false? meaning it will be disabled for them
     
  6. zoelee

    zoelee

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2015
    Posts:
    3
    ok, finally got this to work. thank you for the help.
     
  7. ElSabadero

    ElSabadero

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    Posts:
    7
    I have the same problem, please tell me how you fixed it.
     
  8. Joe-Censored

    Joe-Censored

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Posts:
    11,847
    What is wrong with the solution already posted?
     
  9. MannequinBaby

    MannequinBaby

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    I believe at this point the previous solution has been depreciated. My editor is telling me I need to use GetComponent<camera>().
     
  10. naimish1308

    naimish1308

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2018
    Posts:
    5
    can someone pls help on the same problem
     
  11. Joe-Censored

    Joe-Censored

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Posts:
    11,847
    "camera" in TwoTen's solution is a reference to the camera component, which you'd probably want to name something else anyways. You get a reference to it the same as getting a reference to anything (via inspector, GetComponent, etc).
     
  12. SirhotBay

    SirhotBay

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2021
    Posts:
    12
    this.gameObject.GetComponentInChildren<Camera>().enabled = false;
     
  13. maksimchernichenko

    maksimchernichenko

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2022
    Posts:
    3
    it works but now my client cant move
     
  14. maksimchernichenko

    maksimchernichenko

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2022
    Posts:
    3
    where do i put the code
     
  15. maksimchernichenko

    maksimchernichenko

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2022
    Posts:
    3
    nvm i figured it out
     
  16. E4gy

    E4gy

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2022
    Posts:
    2
    It worked for me as followed:

    public Camera viewCam;

    void Update
    {
    if (!IsOwner) viewCam.enabled = false;
    }