Search Unity

Clarification on network options.

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by pod11, May 26, 2020.

1. pod11

pod11

I completed some simple single player projects i planned as learning process and im at stage where i think i can get to next stage which is multiplayer learning project - as in the end multiplayer is what i want to do.
    I did read thru some forum threads about networking , but im still not sure about certain things i'd appreaciate some help.

2 options im considering is
    Photon bolt
    Mirror with uMMORPG possibly

Projects i have in mind require :
    1) authorative dedicated servers.
    2) does not need to care much about latency as none of it is real time.
    3) needs many good tutorials - preferably video - so i can learn.
    4)i prefer it to be possible to make entire inside unity , as im not a programer and i'd prefer to stick with c# in unity for now.
    5) as simple as possible.
    6) many connected players but not necesarily in same scene or room.

Actual question:
    Are both of my final choices actually fullfilling my conditions?
    ( just got to a tutorial that suggest earier investigation was wrongabout authorative server and photon bolt)
    Are there any better otions that fullfill my conditions?

2. MrsPiggy

MrsPiggy

If you're after an authoritative server I usually recommend SmartFoxServer 2X. It's likely among the best in terms of features, support and examples. Just google it and you'll find all the details.

Correct, Bolt is one of the many client-hosted solutions, so it doesn't fit the server authoritative premise.
    Bolt is a client-hosted solution that can also be hosted in the cloud (or similar) and used authoritatively.

Last edited: Jun 1, 2020
  3. Vincenzo

Vincenzo

?? Why spread misinformation. Photon is doing server authority and so much more than smartfox.

By far the best choice for unity networking today is quantum. From the photon crew.

4. DirtyHippy

DirtyHippy

Incorrect.