Search Unity

1. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity is excited to announce that we will be collaborating with TheXPlace for a summer game jam from June 13 - June 19. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice

Card Game

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by unity_vGVNBMGyUg0BlQ, Apr 20, 2019.

1. unity_vGVNBMGyUg0BlQ

unity_vGVNBMGyUg0BlQ

Hi all - a unity and C# newbie here.

I've been trying, as my first unity project, to recreate a card game i wrote a while back in python using the pygame library. The game is similar (although with some significant differences) to this https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Switch_(card_game).

In my original python game there were four classes (in a single python file):

- Card - stored the value, suit and image of a single card
    - Deck - instantiated a deck of card objects and contained methods to shuffle and deal
    - Player - took input from the player and allowed valid moves to be played
    - Opponent - computed possible runs from the opponents hand, assigned scores to each (based on my understanduing of the game) and then played the one with the highest score
    -In addition to this there were global functions (which i believe are not allowed in C#) to control turns and draw the game window.
    -Card objects were stored in lists: player hand, opponent hand, shuffled deck, pile, ect, and were transferred from one list to another each turn.

My question is this - what is the best way to recreate this in unity? Should I have separate scripts for the deck and the players (I have so far assumed so), should i have a separate game object for the card class? a separate script? or can I have this class defined in the same script as the deck class? What does it mean to define a class outside of the monobehavior inheriting class?