Search Unity

Bug Cannot open any version of Unity, in any way, at all - all roads lead back to Unity Hub

Discussion in 'Unity Hub' started by Tor-Vestergaard, May 22, 2020.

1. Tor-Vestergaard

Tor-Vestergaard

After days of debugging this issue, I have given up, and humbly seek help from here. I recently acquired a new desktop, and something has gone dreadfully, dreadfully wrong with Unity Hub.

I cannot open any project in any version of Unity that knows Unity Hub exists. It is as if all versions of Unity have a "go to Hub" redirect that is always triggering, without fail. The project will briefly appear to start opening, but will then stop opening and return to the Unity Hub. A message will then flash into existence for literally one frame, but with recording software I can stop on that frame and see what it says:

upload_2020-5-22_13-57-26.png

???

I am a developer of Odin Inspector, and I have (had) some trust in my by now rather intimate knowledge of Unity's inner workings, so I'd hoped I would at least be able to figure this issue out on my own, but now I am truly at the end of my rope. Please help! :eek: I can't work any more! I cannot reproduce customer issues in versions of Unity that know about the Hub! I cannot test Odin!

All I did originally was install Unity 5.3 (our development version of Unity, which happily still works, being blessedly free of Unity Hub's interference). Then I installed Unity Hub, and started installing a bunch of versions of Unity. But alas, none of them have worked at all. For a brief period, I could open them by manually creating and editing the ProjectVersion.txt file to the version I want to open, and then manually opening a scene file in the project, but now that has stopped working as well for reasons unknown to me.

Here are the things I have tried so far:

- Run the hub as administrator.