Search Unity

1. If you have experience with import & exporting custom (.unitypackage) packages, please help complete a survey (open until May 15, 2024).
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Can GameObject physics interact with Entity physics?

Discussion in 'Physics' started by Conspiracy, Jan 6, 2020.

1. Conspiracy

Conspiracy

I'm very new to this DOTS thing and when I watch talks about it, the developer that's talking always says something about still having gameobjects whilst at the same time implementing entities.

they say the player can still be a gameObject but if that's so how is the player able to interact with the entities?

I know there's a convert to entity script but that still means I have to write code for the player as if it was an entity and not a gameObject which will still take a long time. As far as I know, entities and gameObjects don't even use the same physics engine. Entity uses Unity.Physics whilst gameObjects uses UnityEngine so I dont even know how those two things can work together.

anyway, please help cause I am very frustrated and my head hurts.

2. tgienger

tgienger

I've just started learning this as well and I'm not 100% sure this is correct, but I believe there are a couple options. First we start with the conversion by injecting the game object.
    upload_2020-1-23_13-53-23.png

This allows us to have the game object and the entity in the world at the same time. This is currently necessary if we want a skinned mesh renderer and animations, and other game object world "things" that are currently not dots friendly.

Then you could run all physics in the DOTS world and update the game objects position, velocity, etc based on the information determined through the dots physics. This would drive your animations and whatever else you need.