Search Unity

1. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity is excited to announce that we will be collaborating with TheXPlace for a summer game jam from June 13 - June 19. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice

[C#] Poker hand evaluation

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Mattiebo, Jul 19, 2013.

1. Mattiebo

Mattiebo

Hello, I'm relatively new to programming/Unity. I've been using Unity with C# for probably around 2 months now and usually when I've been a bit stuck, I've searched the internet extensively until I could find a solution, but after spending a while looking for a solution to this, I thought it would be best to ask here for some assistance.

I'm making a poker game. Last week I got over the initial hurdle of shuffling the deck using a solution provided by EliteMossy. Fortunately, I know how I'm going to do everything else in my game except for the hand evaluation. As my scripts so far are quite long, I won't post them in full (unless requested), but instead I'll explain exactly what's happening and what I need.

The goal is to have a script find if a hand of seven cards (This is Texas Hold 'Em) contains any special hands such as flushes, straights or pairs. Once I work out a way to do a few of these, I should be able to handle the rest.

• My cards are stored in an integer array called deckOfCards. This array holds 52 numbers from 0 - 51 and once the shuffle function has finished, each number is different (as in, there are no duplicated numbers).
    • Each number represents an individual card. 0 - 12 are the Spades cards, 13 - 25 are Clubs, 26 - 38 are Hearts and 39 - 51 are Diamonds. I have a grid which tells me which card fits which value and I can see that, for example, the Jack of Clubs is 23, the Five of Hearts is 30 and the Ten of Diamonds is 48.