Search Unity

Terrain Base Texture and Control Texture resolution limit

Discussion in 'World Building' started by sqallpl, Jun 6, 2019.

  1. sqallpl

    sqallpl

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Posts:
    232
    Hi,

    Any chance to increase these limits to 4096 (same as actual Heightmap resolution limit) in some future update?

    Thanks
     
  2. ChrisTchou

    ChrisTchou

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Posts:
    68
    I have a change in flight that raises the limit for both to 4k. Hoping it will make it into 2019.3.
     
    Rowlan and sqallpl like this.
  3. sqallpl

    sqallpl

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Posts:
    232
    @ChrisTchou

    Just wanted to ask how things are going? Will it make it into 2019.3?

    Thanks.
     
  4. ChrisTchou

    ChrisTchou

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Posts:
    68
    upload_2019-9-3_17-37-55.png
     

    Attached Files:

    sqallpl likes this.
  5. ChrisTchou

    ChrisTchou

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Posts:
    68
    (should be live in 2019.3)
     
    sqallpl likes this.
  6. sqallpl

    sqallpl

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Posts:
    232
    Great to see that. Thanks for the update!
     
  7. a436t4ataf

    a436t4ataf

    Joined:
    May 19, 2013
    Posts:
    402
    Since it's (still) not in the Unity documentation ... what does the text "Require resampling on change" actually mean in your screenshot?

    There are no API methods with a name anything like that, apart from SampleHeight (which definitely is unrelated). And, of course, the docs for Unity Terrain are still "haven't been written yet, since 2011...", so ... Shrug.
     
  8. a436t4ataf

    a436t4ataf

    Joined:
    May 19, 2013
    Posts:
    402
    What it seems to mean is:

    "The first field will do nothing. But the 2nd and 3rd fields below it will create automatic 'RESIZE' buttons if you start editing them. If you're using the API, no resampling is required, this message is a distraction".

    I'm guessing the Helpbox is positioned incorrectly in the inspector (it should be one row lower), and that resampling is ONLY a requirement when editing via the inspector.

    NB: as documented in another thread, the inspector is broken here anyway: it forces POT textures when there's no need for them. Short answer: don't use the Unity Terrain inspector when editing terrains, instead write your own one.
     
  9. Arycama

    Arycama

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Posts:
    97
    Is there plans to add support for compressed (DXT1/DTX5 etc) base map textures? Rendering a large amount of terrain with an uncompressed texture isn't really ideal for performance.
     
  10. ChrisTchou

    ChrisTchou

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Posts:
    68
    Hmm, yeah that is probably badly worded. It's supposed to just be a warning that changing the height or control resolution will automatically re-sample your data, which is a destructive operation.

    The heightmap requires power of two + 1 resolutions, but the control and base texture resolutions are more flexible, it's true. Should probably add an "other" choice in those drop downs.

    We do not have plans to add compressed basemap support to Terrain in the immediate future; but that's something we will look into for the new renderers we are building.
     
unityunity