Search Unity

  1. Are you interested in providing feedback directly to Unity teams? Sign up to become a member of Unity Pulse, our new product feedback and research community.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Read here for Unity's latest plans on OpenXR.
    Dismiss Notice

ARFoundation and 2D image target tracking

Discussion in 'AR' started by jariwake, Jun 27, 2018.

  1. Christopher-Anderson-GISP

    Christopher-Anderson-GISP

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2015
    Posts:
    12
    i would suggest testing in different conditions first. it could be that the area you are testing in is not tracking well (i.e. low light, not enough for the camera to recognize and track such as glossy surfaces, etc.). Also, have you checked that the image you are using to track with is "good enough". I use the ARCore Unity plugin in a separate app to test the rating of the image; i don't use anything with a percentage less than 80 in my apps.
     
  2. Skeketor23

    Skeketor23

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2019
    Posts:
    49

    don't know if this was already solved somewhere....but in case not, you can fix it here:

    upload_2019-10-24_11-42-46.png

    It just scales x and z but not y. This works for a plane but not for a cube. Just also scale y and it will go away.
     
  3. adrian-taylor09

    adrian-taylor09

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Posts:
    42
    I've had similar issues using the latest ARFoundation on an iPad pro and an iPhoneX
     
  4. Saicopate

    Saicopate

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Posts:
    75
    Just disable Tracked Image Info Manager Script.
     
  5. arjun_chandramohan

    arjun_chandramohan

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2019
    Posts:
    2
    Hi @Skeketor23 and @adrian-taylor09, we had the issue of prefab gets placed some centimeters on top of the image target and got it corrected by using image targets of the size we specified in the physical size of the target. ie; try to make our target image physical size matches the physical size input in inspector for the targets.
    And the drifting issue is may be due to the lack of features in the image we use for target. If you are working on IOS the X-code will show if the image features is low and i think even the unity logo is not having good enough features especially the one with white background and black logo.
     
    Skeketor23 likes this.
  6. Bentoon

    Bentoon

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013
    Posts:
    95
    Hi All, I have object tracking working fine,

    But I'm trying to have multiple images each trigger their own objects and w the AR foundations you can only assign One object to be triggered by the AR Tracked image Manager (and you can only have one instance of this script on each camera)...

    Crazy right?

    I have done a few Google searches to no avail ... I am obviously missing something ..?

    Thanks
    ~be
     
  7. SpiderJones

    SpiderJones

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Posts:
    197
  8. Bentoon

    Bentoon

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013
    Posts:
    95
    Thank you @SpiderJones ! I appreciate your work around this !

    ~be
     
  9. SpiderJones

    SpiderJones

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Posts:
    197
    Saicopate likes this.
  10. Skeketor23

    Skeketor23

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2019
    Posts:
    49
    Hi everybody, is it possible to use an image with alpha value? So I mean, for example I have an Image that is not a square, but it is shaped like a tree, and the background may vary dependent on where the image is used. Is it possible to track that also?

    Update: I figured that I probably need to switch to object tracking. But I don't get that working. Did the example work for anybody here?
     
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2020
  11. SpiderJones

    SpiderJones

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Posts:
    197
    You could using a rectangle section of the image without transparency. so if the image was a tree with alpha, for tacking use the middle part that doesn't have alpha.
     
    Skeketor23 likes this.
  12. Skeketor23

    Skeketor23

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2019
    Posts:
    49
    That was my first idea, unfortunately it did not work well for some of my shapes, since there are not enough features to be tracked.
     
  13. Skeketor23

    Skeketor23

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2019
    Posts:
    49
    I've seen that Vuforia provides it:
    upload_2020-4-5_23-51-21.png

    Has anybody tried that? Does it really work? Unfortunately I cannot just test it without buying a license.
     
  14. Alexis-Dev

    Alexis-Dev

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2019
    Posts:
    121
    Hi,
    The problem seem to be your shape, not the alpha canal (because white = alpha = solid color).
    There is to generic or to smooth, so the algorithm can't create enough features points from it. I suggest you to change the trigger or add some "texture" on it.

    Best,
    Alexis
     
  15. Skeketor23

    Skeketor23

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2019
    Posts:
    49
    What do you mean by "change the trigger"?
     
  16. Alexis-Dev

    Alexis-Dev

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2019
    Posts:
    121
    Change your image target.
     
  17. Skeketor23

    Skeketor23

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2019
    Posts:
    49
    Unfortunately that is not an Option. I will probably work with additional QR or Color-Codes. Thanks for your help.
     
  18. Alexis-Dev

    Alexis-Dev

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2019
    Posts:
    121
    I think QR codes is a better option than Color-codes, because the feature points algorithm work in black and white.
     
  19. Fangh

    Fangh

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013
    Posts:
    106
    This AR Maker Generator generate picture that have 100/100 score on ARCore & 5 stars on vuforia and it's not a QRCode.
     
  20. Alexis-Dev

    Alexis-Dev

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2019
    Posts:
    121
    I didn't say you must use QRCode (I didn't use it on me projects by the way). Me point was: solid colors are useless on trigger. On your generator, you can remplace itch color by white and have the some result.
     
unityunity