Search Unity

Are these network data client upload/download stats fine for my game (FPS/semi-fast paced)?

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by Oniros88, Apr 27, 2020.

1. Oniros88

Oniros88

So I was a bit worried about my game network usage since im not that experienced in networks. The game itself runs fine, including tests with another remote player with little networking errors position, bullet spread and all seem to coincide fine in client/server but I feared my netcode my be "rough" or bit unoptimized. I now explain in a detailed long way how I send data so if you just want to see the results of network tests, skip to the next section.

I use Forge for the networking.

How I send data from client to server
    clients send one rpc/message to the server each fixed time step (60 per sec) with several attributes:
    -one vector2 with axis of main movement
    -one byte representing the states of jump and crouch key (different combinations)
    -one vector3 with position of camera
    -one vector3 with the direction player is looking at (these last two allowed us to make aim direction and shooting be deterministic across all clients, taking into account camera position and rotation deviation from screen shakes and others, also allows for extremely fluid and precise player "look at" aesthetic appearance)
    -one vector3 with the final/expected position after the input is applied (REMOVED)
    -one vector 2 that marks overriden movement applied to the main input axis (player drugged/possessed)
    -one vector 3 with a total of the external forces applied to the player (for example using a dash ability, being launched by a jump pad...)(REMOVED)
    -one vector 2 with the player mouse raw axis (this is mostly for aesthetic purposes on displaying on all client inertia on FPerson animations)