Search Unity

Animation pose

Discussion in 'Animation' started by Jichaels, Jul 23, 2019.

1. Jichaels

Jichaels

Hey guys,

I'm currently working on a fairly big project, and I'm starting to ask myself how I should go about animations. I'm currently play testing with free asset on the asset store, and there is two very different approaches animation :

1. The animation makes the character move, rotate etc
    2. The animation don't change character position, and I have to do movement myself

Currently, my "player" walk, run animations don't make the model move, and I use a navMeshAgent + code to makes the character move (a bit STR-like, you click somewhere, guy goes there).

This is totally fine for me, I'm a dev and don't have any problem doing the movement work etc, but I face problems.

I downloaded some really cool animations on the asset store (Warrior packs 2&3), but they make the model move, and it f**** up everything (which is normal).

So, before going any further (and as I probably pay someone to do animations for my project, or learn it myself) what are the pros&cons of both ? Should I only work with animations that doesn't change model positions ? Or do everything in the animations ? Or maybe I can do both but I yet don't know how to proceed.

Thanks a lot if you have any suggestions

2. craigjwhitmore

craigjwhitmore

Animations like walk, run etc, have motion baked into them, it is best to sync this with the character motion. The speed of the animation should be set according to the calculated speed of the character that you are setting up ie, the faster your character runs, the faster the animation plays, then move the character according to the animations delta position.