Search Unity

Looking for best practices on creating an action-adventurer character (Mecanim)

Discussion in 'Animation' started by Reverend-Speed, Jul 24, 2019.

1. Reverend-Speed

Reverend-Speed

Hey folks. I'm building a game a little like Hob or Hyper Light Drifter or Akane or Beacon, etc - a hack-and-slash action adventure.

store.steampowered.com/app/404680/Hob/
    store.steampowered.com/app/257850/Hyper_Light_Drifter/
    store.steampowered.com/app/884260/Akane/
    https://steamcommunity.com/app/856610

I'm a reasonably experienced Unity dev and at the moment I'm the team's sole character modeller and animator (not a very good one). I have a little experience with Mecanim and I'm slowly exploring the options open to me, but as a coder I'm loath to solve a problem which is already well-understood. =D

I'm wondering if anybody can point me towards best practices or tutorials on Mecanim state machines handling animation blending, animation events, root motion, combos, cancelling attacks, different movement states. I'd even take a recommendation of a good example on the Unity Asset Store - I'd really like to find something that maybe approaches the quality of Uncharted.

Thank you in advance.

TheKingOfTheRoad likes this.
  2. Kybernetik

Kybernetik

You might be interested in my Animancer plugin which has lots of examples and solves many of the problems with Mecanim from a coding perspective.

3. Reverend-Speed

Reverend-Speed

That's an amazing-looking plugin, @Kybernetik - I'll spend some time studying that. Thank you.

4. Baste

Baste

If you end up using the Animator, here's some considerations:

If you use triggers, note that they're implemented such that if it's set, it stays set until it gets consumed. So if you do this:

Code (csharp):
    1. // one place in the code:
    2. if (AttackPressed())
    3.     animator.SetTrigger("Attack");
    5. // some other place in the code:
    6. public void TakeDamage() {
    7.     animator.SetTrigger("Damaged");