Search Unity

A quick question with Unity Networking and servers

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by YayItsAmelia, May 17, 2018.

1. YayItsAmelia

YayItsAmelia

Hello! I'm relatively new to networking, but I have recently thought about making a new game multiplayer. I can deal with learning everything required with making networking compatible and such, but I just have one problem which I cannot fix: Finance.

Unity provides a feature to host on their own master server, but I really don't have any funds to support such a thing. Unity only has the nessicary master server files for the legacy versions, not the new versions, as far as I am aware anyway. Is there any way for me to be able to host my own master server on my own computer?

Many games also have a feature where the player hosts a server themselves, on their own machine, so if you are willing to help me out with this problem, please do if you would like! I would greatly appreciate it.

Thank you again!

2. Joe-Censored

Joe-Censored

Configure port forwarding on your router to send the port(s) used by your game to your computer and you can host your own server on that computer that anyone on the internet running your game client can reach. .

Generally you wouldn't ask your players to make that kind of configuration change, so for your players to host their own games that are accessible from the Internet you need to use a solution that gets around their firewall. Photon's design has this built in. Unity has their Unity Multiplayer Service which includes network traffic relay services, and you can look into how to set up something called NAT Punch Through.

You could also look into other network services from 3rd parties that offer similar services. I believe Steam's networking has that built in for example.

3. YayItsAmelia

YayItsAmelia

If I were to use port forwarding, would Unity's multiplayer API still work, or would I have to use some third party?