Search Unity

1. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity is excited to announce that we will be collaborating with TheXPlace for a summer game jam from June 13 - June 19. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Dismiss Notice

3.x Game Development Book Scripting Problem, -door does not play sound on collision-

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by kenlyl, Oct 1, 2012.

1. kenlyl

kenlyl

I am new to Unity and trying to work through Will Goldstone's book Unity 3.x Development Essentials. It has been a very informative book thus far and I have enjoyed the explanations and process.

However, I am stuck part way through chapter 5 while trying to get a playercollider set up to activate a door sound and animation when the FPC collides with the box collider assigned to a door object.

The setup is as follows:
    on the door object I have a box collider and an audio source.

On the FPC I added the script below and assigned two audio files to the public variables for door open and close sound.

I get no errors when saving the script, only the following warning " CS0414: The private field 'PlayerCollisions.doorTimer' is assigned but its value is never used

Being totally new to scripting I can't seem to find any errors , at least that I can recognize, in the script. I went through the setup explanations in the book several times and can't seem to find anything that I missed or set up incorrectly either.

Obviously I am missing something however because when I walk up to the door while testing the game no sounds play.

Also the audio listener is on the FPC camera and I am hearing the ambient terrain sound looping w/o any issues.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated, I was really hoping to solve this on my own, but my hope is quickly waning :-|

Thanks in advance!

PlayerCollisions script below that I am using: