Search Unity

1. We are migrating the Unity Forums to Unity Discussions by the end of July. Read our announcement for more information and let us know if you have any questions.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice

3.x Game Development Book Scripting Problem, -door does not play sound on collision-

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by kenlyl, Oct 1, 2012.

1. kenlyl

kenlyl

I am new to Unity and trying to work through Will Goldstone's book Unity 3.x Development Essentials. It has been a very informative book thus far and I have enjoyed the explanations and process.

However, I am stuck part way through chapter 5 while trying to get a playercollider set up to activate a door sound and animation when the FPC collides with the box collider assigned to a door object.

The setup is as follows:
    on the door object I have a box collider and an audio source.

On the FPC I added the script below and assigned two audio files to the public variables for door open and close sound.

I get no errors when saving the script, only the following warning " CS0414: The private field 'PlayerCollisions.doorTimer' is assigned but its value is never used

Being totally new to scripting I can't seem to find any errors , at least that I can recognize, in the script. I went through the setup explanations in the book several times and can't seem to find anything that I missed or set up incorrectly either.

Obviously I am missing something however because when I walk up to the door while testing the game no sounds play.

Also the audio listener is on the FPC camera and I am hearing the ambient terrain sound looping w/o any issues.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated, I was really hoping to solve this on my own, but my hope is quickly waning :-|

Thanks in advance!

PlayerCollisions script below that I am using:
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    using UnityEngine;
    using System.Collections;