Search Unity

1. If you have experience with import & exporting custom (.unitypackage) packages, please help complete a survey (open until May 15, 2024).
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Question 2D Isometric Diagonal Movement Angles

Discussion in '2D' started by Dracin, Apr 27, 2024.

1. Dracin

Dracin

Hi Everyone,

I'm very new to writing code but I've managed to piece together a movement script for my 2D isometric game. The problem is, I cant seem to fix the angles when moving in any diagonal direction.

Currently the player will move along the diagonal direction but never along the lines of the isometric grid I'm using in the tilemap. In the first image we can see the start position of the player on the pink line of tiles. If I move up and to the left he will end up on the green line as he reaches the end (Picture 2). The script is below.

Any help will be appreciated.

ESRR unity forum post 1a.JPG

ESRR unity forum post 1.JPG

Code (CSharp):
    1. void Update()
    2.     {
    3.         PlayerInput = new Vector2(Input.GetAxisRaw("Horizontal"), Input.GetAxisRaw("Vertical")).normalized;
    5.         // Smooth the input direction
    6.         smoothedMovementDirection = Vector2.Lerp(smoothedMovementDirection, PlayerInput, smoothingFactor);
    8.         // Update last non-zero movement direction only when the player is moving
    9.         if (PlayerInput != Vector2.zero)
    10.         {
    11.             lastNonZeroMovementDirection = smoothedMovementDirection;
    13.             // Update facing direction based on last non-zero movement direction
    14.             if (lastNonZeroMovementDirection.x < 0)
    15.             {
    16.                 facingLeft = true;
    17.             }
    18.             else if (lastNonZeroMovementDirection.x > 0)
    19.             {
    20.                 facingLeft = false;