Search Unity

Zoom in and out on a model to reveal inside details

Discussion in 'Cinemachine' started by Laicasaane, Mar 29, 2018.

1. Laicasaane

Laicasaane

Hi, I have played with normal camera then cinemachine for some hours, but still couldn't figure out how to solve this problem. It surely isn't something new because many have done it before. But I'm totally new to advanced camera controlling, so...

The case: I want to control the camera like any other anatomy app to zoom in on a human model to reveal each layer of details.
    The problem: Changing camera's FOV resulting in view distortion, while changing camera's position is just a bad idea because the camera could go past the model.
    Note: Users could import a model of their own into the app, so the camera controller must be dynamic on models' size. (I really don't know if this info is significant or not.)

The questions: Could FreeLook camera be used to solve this problem? And how to do that? Or other guidelines if cinemachine isn't what I need?

Thanks!

2. Gregoryl

Gregoryl

Unity Technologies

The first thing you need to decide is exactly what you would like the camera to do. Once you have a specific behaviour in mind, then we can look at how to achieve it.

Let me see if I understand what you're trying to do:
    • You have a many-layered model of indeterminate size
    • You want the user to be able to move the camera around in space, going right inside the model, in order to focus on details within it
    • You want the user to be able to arbitrarily pivot the camera in any direction - i.e. there is no significance to the "up" or "down" direction
    • You want the camera's FOV to remain constant
    Do I correctly understand the situation?
    How will the user control the camera?

Laicasaane likes this.
  3. Laicasaane

Laicasaane