Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

zombie toys question

Discussion in 'Unity Certification' started by AndyCobb, Dec 7, 2016.

1. AndyCobb

AndyCobb

Hello, I'm very new to Unity, trying to get started on my certification course.

Between Chapter 02:01 and Chapter 02:02, I'm clearly missing something. at the end of Chapter 2:01 (Analyzing the Unity Editor UI) the Scene window is empty, although we've loaded assets for zombie toys into the Project window back in chapter one. In Chapter 02:02, the scene/game windows are full of the zombie toys game, with the assets visible and playable.

Noob question, I know: how does this happen? I've got the ZT assets loaded and visible in the project window, but the game itself remains invisible and unplayable, the scene and game windows are still the barren, empty horizon line as when originally loading up unity, before getting any assets from the asset store. How do I catch up with the courseware, where in Chapter 02:02 the game is fully loaded into the scene/game windows and visible in the hierarchy!

Help! And thank you.

jjrice2233 and jovalent like this.
  2. smacbride

smacbride

Locate the scene in the project window and double click on it to load the scene into the editor. If the scene is loaded and you can't see anything, pick an object in the scene and double click on that to bring it into focus.

jjrice2233 likes this.
  3. DangerDon

DangerDon

That's not it; the required scene file (Main.unity) is missing for "Chapter 01 - 03 / Zombie Toys." In fact, the Main.unity file is missing from all the early chapters. You'll find it in "Chapter 07 / Zombie Toys" and all of the packages after that.
    No, I don't know why there's no scene file; you can't do much without one.

jjrice2233 and jovalent like this.
  4. ibyte

ibyte