Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

zbrush tutorials for a non artist begginer?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by enzoravo, Oct 24, 2019.

1. enzoravo

enzoravo

hello, i'm a coder guy who wants to enter into the modelling world.

i know about zbrush, mudbox and others software; but i want to learn zbrush.

anyone here can share with me some easy tutorials for non artists guys to start modelling on zbrush?

thanks in advance for all your help.

2. iamthwee

iamthwee

3. enzoravo

enzoravo

4. Martin_H

Martin_H

Why? There are good reasons to pick zBrush over all others, but it's one of the least intuitive (3D) programs in the world, and you should actually have a good reason to start with this instead of e.g. Blender. Blender is a lot easier to learn to use than its reputation promisis, and imho zBrush is a lot harder to learn than its widespread use by professionals might make you believe.

Be aware you're looking at two hurdles: mastering a new tool/software, and learning to know what to do with it. If you lack the foundational skills of an artist, you need to catch up on those too, and those take a lot longer than figuring out how to use a sculpting program. Many tutorials do a terrible job at making that distinction when they promise to help you "learn zBrush/Blender/Mudbox/3DCoat" and show the results of someone who clearly learned more than just using that tool.

5. enzoravo

enzoravo

i choosed zbrush because it seems to be easy to work with, tried blender many times, but i had found a big wall, the interface is kind of terrible, that is the main reason for me to go for zbrush.

about the part you talking for the basics for the artist part, i'm aware of it, just want to learn something new, i love coding and will never stop doing it, but want to learn other stuff related to the game developing world.