Search Unity

Your Unified Opinion?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by cdesmond2, Jul 27, 2005.

1. cdesmond2

cdesmond2

Hello. First time poster! Wahoo!!!

I am new to Unity and hopefully I can get started on something soon after I learn some of the basics. I was wondering if anyone here has any insight to using Unity from a 3D artist's point of view (with minimal programming ability)? I am looking for actual user reaction and not from the Unity staff.. (sorry David ;). I can see there is a fair amount of scripting ability needed, but how "easy" would it be to make a game from the provided scripts with slight modifications? (not a specific game, but just think in general)...

Just looking for a general view of how you all perceive the environment and ease of use. Also, would you recommend it to other 3D artists who are looking into game creation?

Thanks

Carl Desmond

2. David-Helgason

David-Helgason

Be brutal guys :)

I'll close my eyes in the meantime.

d.

3. guategeek_legacy

guategeek_legacy

Well I'm an aritist and I bought it, but I'm mostly going to get programmers to write the scripts I need, I have a programmer of my own, and I can always trade graphics for scripts.

So if you need a script writen you can get lots of help here in the forums, and if you can't hack it I'm sure you can get someone to write it for you, usualy with no need to reward, but some graphics are great things for the programer people so its easy to trade.

Check out http://widgetmonkeys.com/ thats Dav's stuff and he isn't a programer, so I'm sure you will not be unhappy with this investment. Jeff

4. xacto

xacto

Ok... here is my limited opinion (only been using the Demo for 8 days or so)