Search Unity

Feedback You didn't account for some use cases in the event dispatcher (VR/AR)

Discussion in 'UI Toolkit' started by kataS_94, Oct 23, 2021.

1. kataS_94

kataS_94

Hello,

I've been doing some tests with the 2021.2 beta. I'm mainly a VR developer and I'm very interested on the future of UIToolkit for VR. Since you don't have implemented world space panels yet, I did some workarounds with a RenderTexture and redirection of events to the PanelEventHandler (converting the event position so it would properly project from the event camera), so I could test things around on VR.

As you can imagine, within VR we can have two pointers (or even more, like raycasting from the head) with both hands. I have tried different things like setting one of the pointers to the mouse Id (0) or setting them to be 1 and 2 (base touch id and second touch id), or even setting one to be base touch Id and the other one to be base pen Id (21).

It works fairly good, but the problem is that I think that you did not take into account that there can be multiple pointers at the same time that behave mouse-like (can hover over different elements at the same time), which is the special case here in VR.