Search Unity

Question y position of objects

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by kmay11005, Aug 31, 2020.

1. kmay11005

kmay11005

I'm new to unity and recently started making a simple game based off of Brackey's tutorials. I've noticed that some of my objects (all have a y position of 1) aren't on the ground (some of them are overlapping with the ground). I have the ground at a scale of 25x1x1000 and a position at 0,0,0. I thought maybe the engine starts measuring the position from the center of the object, so for example, a 3x3x3 would have a y position of 2.5 (1.5 because of the distance from the center of the object to the ground + 1 for the height of the ground) to be on the ground.
    After some experimenting, I've figured out that objects with a scale of 3x3x3 need a y position of 2 to be exactly on the ground, ones with a scale of 5x5x5 need a y scale 3 to be exactly on the ground, and a 1x1x1 should have a y scale of 1 to be on the ground. How does this system work and where do these numbers come from?
    Also, I tried to update the y position of all my game objects through their prefabs but that didn't do anything. Does this mean that the position of a prefab doesn't affect the objects because each of the individual objects are overriding the prefab? And is there a better way to fix the positions of game objects than to manually do so?

2. PraetorBlue

PraetorBlue