Search Unity

1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.

XRBaseInteractable override problems

Discussion in 'VR' started by steinbrecherandreas, Aug 27, 2020.

1. steinbrecherandreas

steinbrecherandreas

I got a problem while following a VR tutorial series. its about climbing on a wall. He overrides the OnSelectEnter and Exit functions. but that isnt working right for me. it is working, but just one time. i couldnt find an answer, so i started playing around why i cant get it right. so i stripped it all down and made a test scene.

i made a new project and installed the VR dependencies,
    I created a Plane as floor, a sphere and a new vr roomscale rig. this standard one with rayinteractors.
    the sphere has a rigidbody. it has a collider and i added this script to the sphere.

Code (CSharp):
    1. using System.Collections;
    2. using System.Collections.Generic;
    3. using UnityEngine;
    4. using UnityEngine.XR.Interaction.Toolkit;
    7. public class Test : XRBaseInteractable
    8. {
    9.     protected override void OnSelectEnter(XRBaseInteractor interactor)
    10.     {
    11.         base.OnSelectEnter(interactor);
    12.         Debug.Log("SELECT ENTER");
    13.     }
    15.     protected override void OnSelectExit(XRBaseInteractor interactor)
    16.     {
    17.         base.OnSelectExit(interactor);
    18.         Debug.Log("SELECT EXIT");
    19.     }
    20. }
    so shouldnt that setup print "SELECT ENTER" and "SELECT EXIT" to console everytime i press and release the grip button while the rayinteractors point on the sphere? it doesnt for me. it just does it one time. and only for one hand. no matter if i start my test with grabbing with the left or with the right controller.

1. so... when i use the grip i can SelectEnter it... when i release the grip, i SelectExit it. but thats all. i cant do it a second time.