Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Resolved XR Rig with Character Controller floating above the ground.

Discussion in 'XR Interaction Toolkit and Input' started by bigborax676, Mar 8, 2021.

1. bigborax676

bigborax676

I'm new to the XR Interaction Toolkit, and I started using continuous movement, so I added a character controller so you can crawl, but It just floats at 0.5 Y. Does anyone know why this is happening? upload_2021-3-8_16-13-16.png upload_2021-3-8_16-13-44.png

2. bigborax676

bigborax676

Update: I disabled everything else in the scene other than the floor, and it was still floating

3. chris-massie

chris-massie

Unity Technologies

The Character Controller component has a capsule collider to represent the character which is centered on the XR Rig. The XR Rig transform position is located at the ground, so what is likely happening is the capsule collider is going through the ground by a distance of half its height if the Center value is (0, 0, 0), which then moves the XR Rig up to make it stop overlapping with your floor geometry.

There is a Character Controller Driver component in XR Interaction Toolkit that you can use to automatically set the center and height of the Character Controller based on the camera position so that the capsule collider will span between the XR Rig ground and the camera instead of poking through the floor. You may also need to adjust the Skin Width on the Character Controller.

4. HeyBishop

HeyBishop

I'm encountering the same issue - but I can't follow your advice.
    Upon entering Play mode, the Character Controller's Center, Radius, and Height are automatically changed. (Same with the XR Origin and Camera Offset positions)
    My settings:
    upload_2022-7-13_14-15-27.png

After pressing play:
    upload_2022-7-13_14-15-47.png