Search Unity

(XR Interaction ToolKit) Socket Interactor not working, help!

Discussion in 'VR' started by supermrutah, Sep 5, 2020.

1. supermrutah

supermrutah

Hi, all. I am new to Unity/game development. I started learning Unity a week ago and followed Valem and Andrew's youtube channels. I did a few small projects and everything turned out quite smoothly until last night. I was following VR with Andrew to do a Bow and Arrow in VR:
    . I downloaded his Git repo as template and built upon it (the repo contains a scene already). After following the videos bow and arrow worked as expected. So I made a package out of it and tried to import to use it in another scene where I already set up environment with more objects to play with.
    However, after import and use the prefab (bow/arrows/quiver) it simply refused to work! The quiver won't show up with an arrow (the quiver uses a Socket Interactor to spawn arrow and hold on to it). I then found out the issue was due to Socket Interactor from XR Interaction ToolKit. It is supposed to hold on to the interactable object but actually in my scene it didn't! I tried Andrew's tutorial scene again everything simply worked fine. I compared the setting and codes line by line they are identical (of course I exported and imported, nothing should have changed).
    I then created a simple sphere as Socket Interactor in my scene; it simply did NOT work. The interactable will go right through. I then created a simple sphere as Socket Interactor in Andrew't tutorial scene and again it worked just fine.
    I tried a few different version of Unity and everything is the same: I setup a simple sphere with Socket Interactor but it will NOT grab any object from the controller.
    It has been so puzzling to me... Valem also had a video about Socket Interactor and it should work but just not for my scenes...
    Anyone has any suggestions where I should look next? I feel I must be making a stupid but small mistake somewhere...