Search Unity

XmlException: Document element did not appear. Line 2, position 1.

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by sonnolo, Aug 3, 2015.

  1. sonnolo

    sonnolo

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    Posts:
    26
    Unity start get me this error in console pls help

    XmlException: Document element did not appear. Line 2, position 1.
    Mono.Xml2.XmlTextReader.Read ()
    System.Xml.XmlTextReader.Read ()
    System.Xml.XmlReader.MoveToContent ()
    System.Xml.Serialization.XmlSerializationReaderInterpreter.ReadRoot ()
    System.Xml.Serialization.XmlSerializer.Deserialize (System.Xml.Serialization.XmlSerializationReader reader)
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Kolgrima

    Kolgrima

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Posts:
    38
    Same thing just started happening for me as well.
     
  3. bitbarons

    bitbarons

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Posts:
    16
    Same here. Any ideas?
     
  4. Neklan

    Neklan

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Posts:
    6
    I have the same problem, occured today, do you know what to do?
     
  5. bitbarons

    bitbarons

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Posts:
    16
    Do you guys have Windows 10? Maybe a background update causes this?
     
  6. sonnolo

    sonnolo

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    Posts:
    26
    I use window 7 and start work with unity this december,now i try to save my work and reinstall editor
     
  7. sonnolo

    sonnolo

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    Posts:
    26
    I use unity pro and version 4.6(last release) maybe loose my money :/
     
  8. jrhtcg

    jrhtcg

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2013
    Posts:
    34
    same thing here ...
     
  9. Kolgrima

    Kolgrima

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Posts:
    38
    I'm on windows 8 just fired up Unity this morning and bam! Seems to only effect our main project so far, all other projects are fine... can't seem to isolate the issue yet though.
     
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2015
  10. Rienhl

    Rienhl

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2013
    Posts:
    41
    Same thing here. I started up my PC today, opened Unity and it just started spamming this error message on the console.
    Using Unity 4.6.6f2.

    EDIT: And using Win 7
     
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2015
  11. bitbarons

    bitbarons

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Posts:
    16
    Hmm, I'm on Win 10 with Unity 5.1.2. Do you have maybe Xamarin installed aswell?
     
  12. sonnolo

    sonnolo

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    Posts:
    26
    Thanks unity developers for fast response and support.....lol
     
  13. CG_Echtzeitschmiede

    CG_Echtzeitschmiede

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Posts:
    93
    I have the same problem since today. I have a dozen different project backups all the way back to early June, and every single one is suddenly throwing this error non-stop when I launch the editor. It doesn't just throw the error once, it throws it thousands of times and doesn't stop.

    Win 7 64bit + Unity 5.1.1f1

    Edit:
    Alright, this is spooky, I just opened the editor for the 50th time today, and I now get a different error (also thousands of times):
    Code (csharp):
    1.  
    2. InvalidOperationException: Received a error response from the server:
    3. <br/>
    4. <b>Parse error</b>: syntax error, unexpected 'version' (T_STRING) in <b>/home/unityn7/public_html/unity/asset_store/message_builder.php</b> on line <b>129</b><br/>
    5.  
    6. FxProNS.ServerGateway.ProcessServerReply (UnityEngine.WWW www, System.Object args) (at Assets/WaterPlus/Scripts/editor/InfoMessage.cs:106)
    7. FxProNS.ServerGateway+<StartWWWRequest>c__AnonStorey1.<>m__3 () (at Assets/WaterPlus/Scripts/editor/InfoMessage.cs:99)
    8. FxProNS.ContinuationManager.Update () (at Assets/WaterPlus/Scripts/editor/InfoMessage.cs:393)
    9. UnityEditor.EditorApplication.Internal_CallUpdateFunctions () (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/artifacts/generated/common/editor/EditorApplicationBindings.gen.cs:264)
     
  14. CG_Echtzeitschmiede

    CG_Echtzeitschmiede

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Posts:
    93
    I have already tried tons of things, including a complete reinstall. It didn't fix the problem.
     
  15. Kolgrima

    Kolgrima

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Posts:
    38
    Interesting I just went and reset the asset server and cache server and now I get this new error as well. the old one seems to be gone...

     
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2015
  16. pete

    pete

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Posts:
    1,648
    Same prob on OSX. I was logged out. Signed in and the original xml error went away. Then I got the server response error. We happen to be using Water+ also. Maybe their server is down. Is everyone using that? It does do some deserializing etc. but the original error pointed at monodoc.xml. Not sure if they're related. I just commented out the calls from Update in InfoMessage.cs (there are two Updates in there). No more console spamming.
     
  17. bitbarons

    bitbarons

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Posts:
    16
    It seems, Unity is trying to call home?
     
    Neklan likes this.
  18. jrhtcg

    jrhtcg

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2013
    Posts:
    34
    I fixed my issue. I am not sure if others have the same problem or not.

    To start I have upgraded to Windows 10, Visual Studio 2015, and UnityVS 2.0 so I was expecting some issues.

    I figured out that my error was caused because I was coping the ".mdb" file for my library dlls into the plugins folder in unity along side the ".dll" and ".pdp" files. The ".mdb" file appears to no longer be needed by UnityVS, and in fact seemed to be causing the error. I fixed my ".bat" file to no longer copy the ".mdb" files, and I also deleted the ".mdb" files from the plugins folder.

    That fixed it for me. I hope this helps someone else.
     
  19. jrhtcg

    jrhtcg

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2013
    Posts:
    34
    Hmmm, I also am using water+ and had a different error after removing the ".mdb" files that related to it. I also removed water+ to resolve that other error. I would be interested in what others find.
     
  20. pete

    pete

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Posts:
    1,648
    I'm still not sure if the errors were related but it's one thing in common.

    Water+ is calling unityninjas.com to check for updates. Those calls are made from InfoMessage.cs. They either changed their php script or something's up with their server. Results in the bad response error which is a Debug line in InfoMessage.cs. Commenting out the update calls prevents the calls into the server. So, of course, you don't get a bad response. It won't check for updates though. If you want it to, you'll have to uncomment later and try again.
     
  21. Kolgrima

    Kolgrima

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Posts:
    38
  22. Kolgrima

    Kolgrima

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Posts:
    38
    Packages that seem to use this are;
    • BloomPro
    • FxPro
    • GoHDR
    • GoLinear
    • WaterPlusLite
    • WaterPlus
    so if you get this error try removing those
     
  23. bitbarons

    bitbarons

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Posts:
    16
    We don't use Water+, but BloomPro. I think we've found the reason for this trouble.
     
  24. Kolgrima

    Kolgrima

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Posts:
    38
    They are all made by the same author, Golden Zebra Software.
     
  25. pete

    pete

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Posts:
    1,648
    And probably all use InfoMessage to show updates etc. Maybe we should tell them :)
     
  26. Kolgrima

    Kolgrima

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Posts:
    38
    I'll drop them a line...

    Done...
     
  27. CG_Echtzeitschmiede

    CG_Echtzeitschmiede

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Posts:
    93
    Yup, removing Water Plus has fixed the issue, thanks everyone!
     
unityunity