Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Xbox One Profiling Analysis - 15MS Spike

Discussion in 'Windows' started by snair692, Feb 7, 2019.

1. snair692

snair692

So trying to get my game to run smoothly on the XBOX one (I have been developing it for around 14 months at this point, xbox one has been a major struggle).

I need to gain about 7-8 FPS reliably, and I need to reduce the 10-15 ms spikes that happened intermittently. If I can accomplish these two goals or close to it, I will have a smooth running game.

Right now I am focusing on the spikes, and I have made great strides at reducing issues. One of the major issues I had was with the Physics processing time which is taking considerably longer on the XBOX one, I am having to make tough decisions about what objects have colliders, what types of colliders they are etc. That was a major break through.

But here is the problem: I have come across this very bizzare spike that I can't seem to pinpoint or resolve, I can't even find any information about what it is or what is causing it. Attached is the profiler view while the game is running on the xbox one.

What is this "EarlyUpdate.PlayerCleanupCachedData" -- it is spiking almost to 15ms with considerable consistency. That's not good! 15ms is way way way too much on any given frame and it's causing the xbox to drop from ~30fps to 15fps when it happens.

Any thought or input on this one would be helpful as I am at a loss for what this is or what it is doing.

2. Peter77

Peter77

QA Jesus

Can you expand it all the way down in the profiler, so we see what specifically is taking 15ms?

3. Tautvydas-Zilys

Tautvydas-Zilys

Unity Technologies

Indeed, can you tell us what's under that PlayerCleanupCachedData? I am looking at source code but it could be several things.

4. snair692

snair692