Search Unity

WWW download had an error:Couldn't move cache data

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by Good-old-Grim, Feb 16, 2016.

  1. Good-old-Grim

    Good-old-Grim

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2014
    Posts:
    33
    Code (csharp):
    1. WWW download had an error:Couldn't move cache data 'C:/Users/b101324/AppData/LocalLow/Unity/WebPlayer/Cache/Temp/8a279268c9b39e14c9261fbc20c13358' into place 'C:/Users/b101324/AppData/LocalLow/Unity/WebPlayer/Cache/Shared/84f5c2bef2be08fa2b0620a62497f9336c0c1425' when caching AssetBundle
    Never seen this before and couldn't find any info either. Anyone know what might cause this?
    I cannot reproduce it - it only popped up on our logs twice from the same user.
     
  2. patrick-kulling

    patrick-kulling

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    Posts:
    7
    I had the same issue, sadly there is no documentation about the WWW error messages.
    Make sure to check if Caching.ready before you start any download. By doing so the problem should disappear.
     
  3. memetic-arts

    memetic-arts

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Posts:
    82
    This just started happening to me as well, as of today, and it's happening consistently, even in old versions of code that I had working weeks ago.
     
    Last edited: Feb 29, 2016
  4. memetic-arts

    memetic-arts

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Posts:
    82
    Caching.ready took care of it indeed...thank you.

    Code (csharp):
    1. while (!Caching.ready)
    2.     yield return null;
    3.  
     
  5. diekeure

    diekeure

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Posts:
    221
    When is this needed? Before every download or only once?
     
  6. diekeure

    diekeure

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Posts:
    221
    I added the while to our code, but it doesn't help, I keep getting error reports that cache data couldn't be moved.

    Any other possible causes?
     
  7. mgear

    mgear

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    9,442
    Had this issue with 5.3.7p4, and had the caching while-loop already..

    seems like this was causing the error message:
    Code (CSharp):
    1. Caching.CleanCache();
    was doing cache cleaning always before loading, while testing models..

    but was also loading multiple models at the same time,
    loading 2 separate models at the same time had no issues,
    but loading same model twice caused that cache error..
     
  8. Egil-Sandfeld

    Egil-Sandfeld

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Posts:
    72
    Wow, have been running with some race condition with Addressables, and it seems this fixed the issue!
     
    emerge-sjh likes this.