Search Unity

Writing a Book on Game Developing - Need critical feedback on Unity

Discussion in 'Community Learning & Teaching' started by Wickedsunny, Oct 12, 2010.

1. Wickedsunny

Wickedsunny

Hello everyone

I am a designer, writer by profession and a hard core gamer.

Currently I am busy making a platform game in Flash and writing a book on game development for newbies.

The book portrays the whole spectrum of gaming, from genres, types, platforms to hardware and software used for game creation.

I was researching game engines and I came to unity.

I have downloaded the free version and found that, though the learning curve is high for unity( I thought I was learning a new 3D MAX again), the resources and tutorials look awesome and by looking at the some of the previous threads I do believe that even the support here in the forums will be great too.

I started working on the 3rd person platformer tutorial and found it very easy even for a complete newbie but maybe because all the assets were provided in the tutorial and there was nothing to do from scratch.

So I have few questions ( I am not sure if this is the right place to post this, so admins can move the post if required)

1) Can we make pure 2d side scrolling/platformers in Unity?

I have seen the show reel and it has few 2d games like the pirate one where ninja is fighting and killing pirates and the zombieville USA, they looked 2d to me.

2) How easy it is to create a game from scratch?

say for example, if we use the 3rd person platformer game tutorial, reuse the scripts(if allowed) and change the design assets like platforms, hero etc, story line, can it be done without much hassle?

3) How user friendly is Unity for Non - Programmers?

I am a designer and not really a programmer. I am currently using action script in flash to create a game, which is a bit similar to java script. I have no knowledge of c# or other languages. How difficult it will be for me to make games?