Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Wrestling/grappling system in unity

Discussion in 'Entity Component System' started by MrZeker, Feb 2, 2019.

1. MrZeker

MrZeker

Hi, im Zek, im kinda new to unity, i have been working in a beat-em-up style game, with martial arts. my idea is to have characters with different martial arts, everything is kinda working so far because i found tutorials for all i need, except for any kind of wrestling system.
    What i want to do i the player who is using the judoka character be able to use judo throws but i really have no clue how to make the animations start.
    for my others attack im using a "input.getbutton" and then just playing the animation and enabling the hitboxes in fist and legs, but for the throws the animation in both the attacker and defender must match in position, rotation and timing.
    im not asking for someone to write the code for me, but where to look for info on how to do that? or any ideas - considering im extremely new at unity - .

2. RecursiveEclipse

RecursiveEclipse

The only animations that work in ECS right now are shader based, unless you're working in hybrid. Hopefully when GDC comes we'll get lots more features, they seem to be building up to a big update.

3. Deleted User

Deleted User

A fighter would probably be better done in OOP. Since most of the components would actually need to exist from the start, reducing the full impact of ECS.

That said, being new to Unity and diving into the currently forever changing ECS is probably not a good idea, solid ECS games at the moment are designed with the current features so that if something changes, it wouldn't completely destroy the games functionality.

4. RecursiveEclipse

RecursiveEclipse