Search Unity

  1. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

Wow Vulkan is lot faster...

Discussion in 'Graphics Experimental Previews' started by Arowx, Sep 30, 2016.

  1. Arowx

    Arowx

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Posts:
    7,524

    DX12 @ 1440x900

    Vulkan @ 1440x900

    Only comparing standard shaders, as instancing does not work for me on Vulkan.
     
    MD_Reptile and dylanHart like this.
  2. Wespos

    Wespos

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2016
    Posts:
    6
    Excellent result !
    Where can I get this test?
    Thanks for the reply.
     
  3. Arowx

    Arowx

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Posts:
    7,524
    https://arowx.itch.io/unity-cube-mark

    Bottom two files CubeMark55DirectX12.zip and CubeMark55Vulkan.zip

    Standalone PC only.
     
  4. Wespos

    Wespos

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2016
    Posts:
    6
    Thank you so much !
    My result to FHD.

    UP/ Work in Unity 5.5.0 b4 Asynchronous Computer on AMD cards?

    DX12

    Vulkan
     
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2016
  5. mgear

    mgear

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    6,189
    vulkan *now all tests
    upload_2016-10-1_17-6-17.png

    directx12
    upload_2016-10-1_15-40-24.png
     
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2016
    Wespos likes this.
  6. Wespos

    Wespos

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2016
    Posts:
    6
    Please, run the entire test in one pass.
    Very interested in the results.
     
  7. Arowx

    Arowx

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Posts:
    7,524
    I don't know if Unity utilises Asynchronous Compute in it's rendering pipeline?
     
  8. Wespos

    Wespos

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2016
    Posts:
    6
    In the Doom, have launched asynchronous computer. It is usually ~ 10-20 FPS.
     
  9. srmojuze

    srmojuze

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    Posts:
    127
    Hi, CubeMark is crashing, AMD RX 470. FYI, cheers.

    Unity Player [version: Unity 5.5.0b4_275684f68981]

    vulkan-1.dll caused an Access Violation (0xc0000005)
    in module vulkan-1.dll at 0023:666b6906.

    Initialize engine version: 5.5.0b4 (275684f68981)
    GfxDevice: creating device client; threaded=1
    [Vulkan init] extensions: count=0
    Vulkan error VK_ERROR_OUT_OF_HOST_MEMORY (-1) file: C:/buildslave/unity/build/Runtime/GfxDevice/vulkan/VKContext.cpp, line: 282
    Crash!!!
     
  10. Arowx

    Arowx

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Posts:
    7,524
    Ok it looks like your GPU is running out of memory how much memory does it have?
    Have you tried the DX12 version as well ( CubeMark55DirectX12.zip ) just to see if it's a Vulkan Specific issue?

    You could also try a lower resolution to reduce the memory footprint.
    And look on the bright side CubeMark Vulkan is so fast on your GPU it runs out of memory before it gets near reaching it's top performance.
     
  11. Wespos

    Wespos

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2016
    Posts:
    6
    Hi, why such a strange load on the processor ?
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2016
  12. Arowx

    Arowx

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Posts:
    7,524
    I've heard that DirectX12 tops out around 4 cores and Vulkan about 6, so it could be the actual technologies limitations:

    Article here on DX12 on Multicore -> http://www.pcworld.com/article/3039...es-you-really-need-for-directx-12-gaming.html

    My understanding is that Vulkan does not have as much of a limitation in this regard. Note that the engine also needs to run on one or more CPU threads so it could reserve threads for itself.
     
  13. Wespos

    Wespos

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2016
    Posts:
    6
  14. strandborg

    strandborg

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2014
    Posts:
    32
    Hi,

    Impressive numbers!

    We're aware that instancing is currently not working on AMD GPUs. We're investigating the reasons for that together with AMD engineers.

    Cheers,
    --Mikko
     
    Arowx likes this.
  15. Arowx

    Arowx

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Posts:
    7,524
    Any updates on this?
     
    MrEsquire likes this.
  16. N1warhead

    N1warhead

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Posts:
    3,689
    It may be just me. on 5.6 Beta. Vulkan isn't any faster than anything else, if not worse.

    It may be because my game is strictly UI based. The fill rate of even a 16 x 16 texture drops FPS down as far as nearly 20FPS and makes the MS raise from 17MS to nearly 30MS.

    (This is for Android).

    I did the steps I found in the blog to enable Vulkan. But doesn't appear to have done anything.
    But this could be because UI's aren't part of Vulkan Speed ups.
     
  17. N1warhead

    N1warhead

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Posts:
    3,689
    ohh im on the Ellipsis 10 btw.
     
  18. DWilson81

    DWilson81

    Joined:
    May 4, 2016
    Posts:
    3
    I am also experiencing poor performance with Vulkan on both 5.6.0b11 and 5.6.0f2 on Android using a Google Pixel.
    I have not yet attempted to do anything in the way of optimizations for Vulkan, but just simply making a build with Vulkan enabled, the game drops from a solid 60FPS (OpenGLES 3) down to 25-35FPS (Vulkan)...

    Is there anything specific that needs to be changed in order for this to work as expected?
    The Pixel in question is running Android OS 7.1.1
     
unityunity