Search Unity

Would Unity be suited for what I want to do?

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by Shakor, Dec 8, 2015.

1. Shakor

Shakor

I'm an experienced Java developer who have worked professionally building Enterprise and Web Application, in Java and related technologies. And I'm currently taking a few months break to build something which is my main hobby, PC games.

I want to develop a game, not of commercial quality obviously, but rather a simple third person, 3D, isometric, space ship game. No fancy GFX needed and only 2D movement in a 3D space. Basic combat with different type of attacks from different ranges, projectiles, shield effects, explosions etc. The game area would be a limited sized sphere with boundaries and mouse and keyboard controls.

Is Unity 3D the right tool for that game and with my background? I have never done any 3D stuff and not artistic at all so I expect to get/buy 3D models from the Unity store.

Also, could someone tell me if what I want to build is realistic and not too complex as I expect to have a prototype done in about 6 months of full time work. Again, a very simply space shooter, nothing of commercial quality.

2. JoeStrout

JoeStrout

Yes, Unity is absolutely the right tool for the job, and with your experience in Java, you'll have no trouble getting a good solid prototype done in 6 months.

C# is very similar to Java; the APIs are a little different, but all logical and easy to find. I expect you'll have to problems. (But when you do, post here and we'll help!)

Chris-Ramer likes this.
  3. Chris-Ramer

Chris-Ramer

To add onto what @JoeStrout said,