Search Unity

Would Unity be appropriate for a simple quiz game?

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by LibaneoDan, Mar 25, 2017.

1. LibaneoDan

LibaneoDan

Hello guys. I'm a student on my last year in college about to begin my graduation project. I always wanted to make games, so I decided to take this opportunity to start. I still know very little about Unity or any other kind of game development engine or framework though, so I'm planning on starting small.

I want to make a simple educational game that teaches about astronomy. I want the interface to be like a "map" of the solar system (not 3D necessarily), that will have the planets spinning around the sun. The player will be able to select a planet, read about it on a few topics, and answer a quiz about it. Once the player gets the quiz right, he will "conquer" that planet.

So, the most complicated part of this will be developing this solar system map. But I'm thinking that the gameplay might be too simple for the Unity engine? I'm sure I could do something very similar with other tools, but I just really wanted to get started with Unity.

I'd like hear your opinion. Is this too small for a Unity project? Would you say that there are other frameworks that would accomplish this in a better way?

Last edited: Mar 25, 2017
  2. Schneider21

Schneider21

Can you do it? Sure. But you may find the amount of work required to get something running is more than you may have spent going with a simpler solution.

Does it have to be an app? Running this as a mobile-optimized website may be worth looking into.

3. LibaneoDan

LibaneoDan

I'm not good at web development (CSS, Html, jquery), so there would be a long learning curve for me (although unity also has a learning curve).
    I can't imagine how I would manage to make a map like I explained and then manage to put it into a website. I'd have to reformulate the project, so I would prefer it to be an app.