Search Unity

Question Would server should I set? What it has to do?

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by rangolee302, Mar 26, 2021.

1. rangolee302

rangolee302

I am planning to make a multiplayer game and I am new to the multiplayer world. After I searched around to get to know it, I am even more confused, now I am not sure what a big picture would look like and whether what I know is true. But I still got a plan. Please tell me if I am wrong.

I know there are many solutions out there to make a multiplayer game. Photon, Mirror, MLAPI, Forge, DarkRift, and Unity Netcode (ECS + DOTS). Some of them are similar and some had huge differences. Here is what I guess so far: would

• Photon PUN, Mirror, MLAPI, Unity netcode (ECS) are basically client-hosted, I have to at least make a relay server/ rent service to deliver the matchmaking. But is this enough?
    • MLAPI can also host a dedicated server, but I am not sure how, the tutorial shows if you want to host 1 game you have to run a 1 game first. What if you have to host 100?
    • Client host had insecurity because the host can modify the game to cheats. Most importantly, players would get the IP of other players that leads to potential hacking.
    • Client host would be divided into a few approaches. 1. Sync game state, 2. deterministic lockstep 3. deterministic forward. While 2, 3 is secure than 1 but why?

I know people would ask what game are you making? how much budget you have? etc...
    Let's say the game would be a coop RTS mobile game (I have not decided yet TBH)
    Thanks for reading to here

2. Joe-Censored

Joe-Censored

If you want to run more than 1 dedicated server instance on the same hardware, you run them on different ports. You should try out several networking API's to see what you like and what you don't. I know it is time consuming, but you're not going to get enough information from just reading opinions and looking at documentation.