Search Unity

Would a C# class help?

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by Jemismom, Dec 29, 2015.

1. Jemismom

Jemismom

Just learning Unity through TeamTreeHouse.com. I have no programming experience at all. The local college offers online C# classes. Would it be beneficial to take them? Or is it best to find some classes specific to Unity?

Thanks for any input,

-J

2. Schneider21

Schneider21

This gets asked about once a week, it seems. Would a class teaching C# help you learn C# for Unity? Sure. Is it the only way to learn? Not at all.

Unity's official tutorials do a good job teaching the basics of programming. There are also free resources online for learning, such as Rob Mile's Yellow Book. Or you could buy a traditional book on Amazon, or watch YouTube videos.

Choose whatever method works best for you. If you prefer a classroom environment, by all means do so. But don't feel like it's the only option you have, by any means.

jhocking and JoeStrout like this.
  3. Jemismom

Jemismom

Thanks @Schneider21. If you have a moment, could you look at the attached course outline? I'm not sure if it's the right course.

Attached Files:

4. Schneider21

Schneider21

Yeah, that's pretty much the same as the first chapters of your typical C# or other programming text book. How much does this course cost, out of curiosity? If it's any more than $26, I'm not confident you'll be getting your money's worth, as it seems like what you'll be doing is exactly what you'd learn from reading a good book.

5. Jemismom

Jemismom

It's an online course offered free through our library. I understand the general concepts of programming. I have been trying to teach myself php for years and have a very basic knowledge of that. Signed up for freecodecamp.com but am floundering since you are really teaching yourself and many times I'm not even sure what questions to ask. I think I will try the Unity videos today and see how that goes. Thank you for your time,

6. Schneider21