Search Unity

  1. We are migrating the Unity Forums to Unity Discussions. On July 12, the Unity Forums will become read-only. On July 15, Unity Discussions will become read-only until July 18, when the new design and the migrated forum contents will go live. Read our full announcement for more information and let us know if you have any questions.

Assets World Manager - Generic world management system

Discussion in 'Works In Progress - Archive' started by AdamGoodrich, Jul 20, 2017.

  1. AdamGoodrich

    AdamGoodrich

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    Posts:
    3,787
    I will do a video on this - have just held off a little until the other assets have published their integrations - sort of pointless unless you can get everything you need.
     
    one_one likes this.
  2. JayCrossler

    JayCrossler

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2013
    Posts:
    10
    Makes sense. Also (and probably obviously) having it added to the Gaia GX Extensions would be nice. Would be another good way to motivate the other publishers to integrate with the World Manager. Maybe have an option to integrate the WM, and another to also build some simple UI elements like a clock/calendar that others can reskin.
     
  3. AdamGoodrich

    AdamGoodrich

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    Posts:
    3,787
    Yep agreed - I have started working on some sample UX in the demo controller - but have so much work on my plate - that this is one of those things that will have wait until I get the time.

    It is also open source and not a paid asset - and I have no issues with other people helping out by contributing some of their own time if they want things to move a little faster - its surprising - but even as simple conceptually as it is - this thing has already chewed up a lot of my time :)
     
    P_Jong likes this.
  4. JayCrossler

    JayCrossler

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2013
    Posts:
    10
    Thank you for the contributions you are doing to it. Open sourcing big ideas like this is awesome- and will ultimately result in thousands of better games/simulations/solutions in the future.
     
    P_Jong and AdamGoodrich like this.
  5. Assembler-Maze

    Assembler-Maze

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2016
    Posts:
    630
    Hello!

    The API is quite interesting. However I want to ask if there could be something that I'd require for my specific needs.

    I've developed this nice Critias Foliage System based on my previous work. You can hand-paint foliage right into my system or extract it from an existing terrain and dump it in my system.

    Most people seem to be interested in the performance gain part of the system and don't care about painting and only use the terrain extraction part. Extracting the data from the terrain all the time can be a little cumbersome and I was asked if there is any way to dump the data from a system like gaia/gena/world creator right into my system.

    Someone told me to look here. However it seems to me that this API is not quite what I'd require. However I might be wrong? Maybe you plan to write any Gaia API integrated with this one and export some more information from that one? Or you have some internal data that might do what I need?

    Thanks in advance for your time!
     
  6. AdamGoodrich

    AdamGoodrich

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    Posts:
    3,787
    Hi, thanks for the contact. Lets talk offline :)
     
  7. trilobyteme

    trilobyteme

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2016
    Posts:
    309
    This looks like a great project!
     
  8. AdamGoodrich

    AdamGoodrich

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    Posts:
    3,787
    Yeah - took a bit of time to put it together but its super useful.

    And thanks to community feedback here its implementation now is much better than my original!
     
    Mark_01, BackwoodsGaming and one_one like this.
  9. derkoi

    derkoi

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Posts:
    2,273
    Hey Adam, I imported World Manager into an empty project in Unity 2017.3.0p1 and i get this:

    World API issue Capture.PNG
    Thing is, I don't see any errors so I don't know what the issue is.

    Any ideas please?
     
  10. AdamGoodrich

    AdamGoodrich

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    Posts:
    3,787
    On surface no. When I get a moment I will look at 2017.3 and see if I can replicate it.
     
    derkoi likes this.
  11. tgaldi

    tgaldi

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Posts:
    102
    Hey @AdamGoodrich

    I own Enviro and am looking to use World API to control it with UI controls at runtime.

    I'm currently just getting familiar with it using the sample demo, which I've opened in a new project (2017.3) and dropped Enviro into the scene. When I change the time and fog settings in the Controller I see the changes in the UI components but they do not seem to affect Enviro. Are there extra steps required?

    Thanks.
     
  12. Duffer123

    Duffer123

    Joined:
    May 24, 2015
    Posts:
    1,219
    @AdamGoodrich ,

    How do I import World Manager API?

    Also, do you know of any way I can introduce ground mist to my environment?
     
  13. Vondox

    Vondox

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Posts:
    2,430
    Hello,

    you need to add the EnviroWorldAPIIntegration component to one of your gameobjects in your scene. (Component Menu - Enviro/WAPI Integration)

    You have plenty of options what and how to sync the different values in that component then.

    Kind Regards,
    Hendrik
     
    AdamGoodrich and tgaldi like this.
  14. tgaldi

    tgaldi

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Posts:
    102
  15. imagoculturae

    imagoculturae

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Posts:
    81
    Is this been resolved I get the same warning I am on unity 2018.2.0
     
  16. AdamGoodrich

    AdamGoodrich

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    Posts:
    3,787
    This is a free asset that I put probably a month of time into... and as such it sits behind my other assets in terms of priority for changes.

    If anyone in the community wants to suggest fixes or changes, then please feel free to contact me privately, and I will fast track the update back to the source base.
     
  17. Peter77

    Peter77

    QA Jesus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Posts:
    6,650
    I looked at the issue and you can workaround it by reimporting "Assets/WorldAPI/Demo/DemoIntegration.cs". Right-click the DemoIntegration.cs script and choose "Reimport" from the context menu.

    I guess, for some reason the WORLDAPI_PRESENT scripting define is not correctly set when upgrading Unity. I was able to reproduce this issue by just opening a fresh copy from github. Trying to drag&drop the DemoIntegration.cs file on a GameObject brought up the error "This file does not contain a script". After reimporting the script, everything seems to be fine.

    2018.2 outputs a few of the following warnings, but that shouldn't cause WorldAPI to stop working and is probably a simple fix for Adam.
     
    derkoi likes this.
  18. Tony-Lovell

    Tony-Lovell

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2014
    Posts:
    127
  19. Jorhoto

    Jorhoto

    Joined:
    May 7, 2019
    Posts:
    99