Search Unity

World Canvas not displaying on Cardboard

Discussion in 'AR/VR (XR) Discussion' started by Dynamoid-Megan, Apr 8, 2016.

  1. Dynamoid-Megan

    Dynamoid-Megan

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2015
    Posts:
    72
    As you can see in the image, I have the Canvas set to World Space, with the Main Camera from the CardboardMain prefab set as the Event Camera.
    I can see the Canvas elements displaying in the Game view until I hit play, and then they disappear when the view changes to the VR mode in Game view. When I hit Play again to stop the test, the Game view no longer has the Canvas showing either!
    I have tried setting the Layer on the Canvas and it's children to Defualt, and UI, with the same results of it not showing up.
    Can anyone tell me why the canvas goes away?

    Build Target: Android Unity Version: 5.3.4p2
    worldcanvas.jpg
     
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2016
  2. Spirit-Invoker

    Spirit-Invoker

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2015
    Posts:
    4
    Hi, I have the same issue, I tried everything, but without success. Maybe it is a bug!?
     
  3. DanielQuick

    DanielQuick

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Posts:
    3,137
    I had an issue where the World Space canvas was visible in the editor, but not on Cardboard, when the canvas had any rotation applied to it.
     
  4. Dynamoid-Megan

    Dynamoid-Megan

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2015
    Posts:
    72
    I started a fresh project, and was able to interact with the worldspace canvas in the Cardboard Demo, but it seems impossible to make a NEW canvas or really move it around much before they BOTH become non-rendering so and so's. I'm using 5.3.4f1 right now.
     
  5. Spirit-Invoker

    Spirit-Invoker

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2015
    Posts:
    4
    Yes, I also back to 5.3.4f1 and it is working. It is some problem from Unity 5.3.4p2. Maybe will fixed it somewhere in next pathces
     
  6. gabrek

    gabrek

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2016
    Posts:
    1
    Hi, I have the same issue with Unity 5.3.4p2 and 5.3.4p3, I'm using 5.3.4p1 now and I can see the Canvas element again.
     
  7. mgear

    mgear

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    5,201
    probably same issue here with 5.3.4p2 (tried every combination of cameras, layers, shaders before founded this thread.. >< )

    downloading 5.3.4p5 to test.. ** It didnt ><

    downloading 5.3.4f1... (seems to work!)
     
    Last edited: May 5, 2016
  8. thep3000

    thep3000

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Posts:
    271
  9. imtrobin

    imtrobin

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Posts:
    1,545
    6 patches released since this was reported, and still not fixed? Please poke harder
     
  10. thep3000

    thep3000

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Posts:
    271
    I have been informed 5.3.5p5. Sorry for the delay.
     
  11. dvlee

    dvlee

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2016
    Posts:
    6
    I meet the same problem in 5.3.5f1. Anybody solved it? Pls help!!
     
  12. dvlee

    dvlee

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2016
    Posts:
    6
    how can we get 5.3.5p5 version?
     
  13. DanielQuick

    DanielQuick

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Posts:
    3,137
  14. MarcinM

    MarcinM

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Posts:
    2
    In our case we still have to stick to 5.3.4p1, because:
    • 5.3.4p2 - 5.3.5p4: World canvas is not rendered to RenderTextures at all
    • 5.3.5p5 - 5.3.5p6: All UI in RenderTexture is rendered twice, with one frame lag (image attached). Scene manager obviously has one GameObject but in frame profiler there are 2 draw calls
    UI_double_rendering.png

    Any ETA for fix?
     
  15. EatMyPixels

    EatMyPixels

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    Posts:
    3
    I am also facing the same problem. I think unity failed to integrate GVR with unity 5.3.5f1. There's another problem I need to mention some scripts act simply different and GameObjects lost their names to default. The later problem I faced while I was upgrading my older projects from 5.0 to 5. Whatever.

    Unity should pay attention to it's VR modifications. Otherwise they will loose a significant portion of users.
     
  16. mgear

    mgear

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    5,201
  17. Kafley

    Kafley

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Posts:
    8
    I am facing the same problem with integrating GVR with Unity 5.3.5f1. Not able to display World Canvas with Cardboard.
    If there's any other workaround please share.
     
  18. mgear

    mgear

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    5,201
    For me it works in 5.3.6f1
     
  19. Kafley

    Kafley

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Posts:
    8
    You mean to say you are able to display world canvas with Cardboard?
    Can you please suggest how to achieve this?
     
  20. mgear

    mgear

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    5,201
    Yes, i'm using 5.3.6f1 + gvr v0.7
     
  21. Kafley

    Kafley

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Posts:
    8
    I am using 5.3.5f1 + gvr 2.0
     
  22. mgear

    mgear

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    5,201
    Make backup and try with 5.3.6f1, it was fixed there:
    - UI: Fixed World Space Canvas not being rendered on render textures. (790264, 799386, 795880) (link)
     
  23. Kafley

    Kafley

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Posts:
    8
    I am able to fix the issue...In gvrMain, under GVR Viewer...Distortion correction should be made to Unity...that has fixed my issue
     
  24. AGOLDFISH

    AGOLDFISH

    Joined:
    May 31, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    Hello I found a fix

    in your canvas
    change **Render Mode** to-> **Screen Space Camera**

    change **Render Camera** to -> Your camera

    change **Plane Distance** to a very low number but not negative
     
    mkusan, Xagae, Amin- and 3 others like this.
  25. Xagae

    Xagae

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    Thank You!!!
     
  26. Nectar32

    Nectar32

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    =============================================================
    You are great.Thanks man!