Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Feedback Working with Unity for 16 months 8 hours a day - these are my pain points

Discussion in 'Editor Workflows' started by Xarbrough, Jun 23, 2019.

1. Xarbrough

Xarbrough

I'd like to share some issues I've had with the Unity editor while working on multiple professional projects. I've compiled this list with the help of team mates and tried to focus on things that affect multiple members of the team. I really enjoy working with Unity and want to make it better, so please take the criticism as tough love. :)

About Me
    I've been using Unity since 2013. I studied game design and computer science and have been working at both software and game companies. In total I've worked on about 10 real-world projects (released games, VR experiences, software). The projects were between 6 weeks and 6 months with team sizes of about 10 people. I focus on programming, editor tools, general workflows, all things engine and technical.

1) Feedback loop for the Issuetracker
    Bug reporting with Unity works well. I've reported dozens and always received fast replies and relatively quick fixes. However, many of these replies are personal emails and the community doesn't benefit from them. Also, labels such as "By Design" or "Won't Fix" need explanations. Some of these issues do show comments, but most do not. Beyond the basic issuetracker system I would hope for improved communication directly from developers in cases where technical details should be shared.

2) Assembly Definition Files are difficult to work with and benefits are unclear