Search Unity

Working in a true pixel space in unity using Scriptable render pipeline?

Discussion in 'General Graphics' started by hexdump, May 3, 2018.

1. hexdump

hexdump

Hi,

I'm pretty new to the new Scriptable render pipeline. After reading the docs there's something that is not already clear to me:

1) I work mainly in 2d games
    2) I hate the way we must work with units instead of pixels in unity editor (and programatically)

My question is, could we add a render loop to the render pipeline that could allow 2d game programmers to work like any other 2d based engine? I mean, in pixels instead of units, etc.?

Cheers.

2. TheProfessionalNoob

TheProfessionalNoob

You can already do this with the existing renderer (and presumably also with the scriptable render pipelines), by setting `PixelsPerUnit` to 1. In the sprite import settings. This gives you the best of both worlds, you can work in terms of pixels most of the time, but then manipulate this setting as needed, for sprites that may not fit the same scale as the rest of your world.

3. hexdump

hexdump

I'm doing this since I started with unity2d. The problem is for example that some systems like physics expects your world to be created following some rules to "feel right". I mean, it works with the little trick you suggested (adjusting camera size too), but there is a lot of more things to do to get a true 2d environment. I wish unity could add something as Godot Engine provides for its 2D mode. When they do, they will have the ultimate 2D engine for everyone and with the possibility to export to tens of platforms (wet dreams).

Martin_H likes this.
  4. MadeFromPolygons

MadeFromPolygons

Im not really sure what you mean, you can get pixel perfect right now by doing what @TheProfessionalNoob suggested.