Search Unity

Question With WrapMode set to None, animated objects reverting to previous state at end

Discussion in 'Timeline' started by Romano, Jun 12, 2020.

1. Romano

Romano

Hiya. With the PlayableDirector's WrapMode set to None, the animated objects in my timeline are returning to their previous states after it's finished playing. Should this be happening? From what I've read, animated objects should maintain their states afterwards. I'm quite new to timelines so hoping I'm just doing something daft, but I can't see what's going wrong. One of the objects in question has no script attached that could change the state via code. The only controlling component it has attached is an animator with animator controller. All the positions that are set via the timeline (not via the objects' own animators with animator controllers) are staying where they should be when the timeline ends - in the last place the timeline left them

Help appreciated, thanks!

Last edited: Jun 12, 2020
  2. seant_unity

seant_unity

Unity Technologies

Timeline does leave animated objects where they are, but if there is an animator controller attached, then it will continue to update the object when timeline is complete.

In fact, they are both always running, timelines values just take precedence while it is running. The behaviour can also depend on 'WriteDefaults' in the animator controller state, and what exactly is being animated (Root motion of the object is a special case).

3. Romano

Romano

Thanks! What's the recommended way of having continuity between a cutscene using timeline that goes back into gameplay? The animators return to their previous states and the cinemachine cameras do the same. How would I get them to keep the last state/clip the timeline assigns them?
    Edit: Or at least make it seem continuous?

4. seant_unity

seant_unity

Unity Technologies