Search Unity

  1. Get all the Unite Berlin 2018 news on the blog.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity 2018.2 has arrived! Read about it here.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Improve your Unity skills with a certified instructor in a private, interactive classroom. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. ARCore is out of developer preview! Read about it here.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Magic Leap’s Lumin SDK Technical Preview for Unity lets you get started creating content for Magic Leap One™. Find more information on our blog!
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Want to see the most recent patch releases? Take a peek at the patch release page.
    Dismiss Notice

Witcher Animation System?

Discussion in 'Animation' started by Joey_99, Feb 13, 2018.

  1. Joey_99

    Joey_99

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2014
    Posts:
    3
    So some of you might have seen this article before: https://www.pcgamer.com/most-of-the-witcher-3s-dialogue-scenes-was-animated-by-an-algorithm/

    The way it works is, from what I could understand in the article, is they create a large library of mostly single-character animations, as-opposed to creating extensive multi-character animation sequences for specific story moments. The animations are then used in-engine to create scenes and can also be tweaked in-engine.

    For example you can put different characters in different positions within the game-world, play individual animations on those characters at different moments during the scene, and then make edits on the fly to make it all go together nicely, like turning a character's heads and eyes to always be looking at another.

    All of this without having to mess-around in third-party tools until it's just right.

    Would it be possible to make something similar for Unity? Is there anything similar on the asset store? Thank you for answering my questions.
     
  2. theANMATOR2b

    theANMATOR2b

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Posts:
    7,755
    Short answer - Yes
    Review Cinemachine and Timeline tools - built directly into Unity.
     
    StickyHoneybuns likes this.
  3. Joey_99

    Joey_99

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2014
    Posts:
    3
    Thanks for the info, the tools look good.
     
  4. Joey_99

    Joey_99

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2014
    Posts:
    3
    From what I've been able to find Timeline doesn't allow you to move bones during existing animations, which is what I was looking for.