Search Unity

Games [WIP] Wizard Saga (think choose your own adventure meets collectible card game)

Discussion in 'Works In Progress - Archive' started by Raelyr, Oct 3, 2019.

1. Raelyr

Raelyr

Hey guys, I'm pretty new to unity and C# and started work on my first major project about two weeks ago. It's for a game I'm tentatively calling Wizard Saga, which plays a bit like the thread title describes. You play as a newly-minted wizard in a world extremely hostile toward magic (and it's not really their fault, most existing wizards are kinda jerks!). As the player, you swap between interactive conversations and a CCG-esque combat system, completing various scenarios before moving out to the world map where you choose where to go next.

The game starts out in 'story' mode, where you make choices that impact your wizard's reputation and interact with characters via decision-driven dialogue.

The choices you make are important, and have a meaningful and lasting impact on your story as it unfolds!

Your choices effect not only the immediate scenario, but also impact your character's 'reputation' values (things like 'aggression', 'greed', 'compassion', etc). These values determine what conversation options are available going forward, and also what scenarios may or may not occur for you!

Depending on your decisions, combat can break out throughout the conversations.

During combat, you 'draw' elements from the ones you've collected throughout the game, and can string them together to cast increasingly powerful (and costly) spells each round. Enemies perform actions from their own 'hand' each turn, too.

After completing a given scenario, you move out to the world map, where you can travel to different locations (if you've unlocked them), starting with the small forests-edge village of Denev.