Search Unity

Games [WIP] Treacherous Journeys - Multiplayer Online Action RPG

Discussion in 'Projects In Progress' started by Jesper-Nielsen, Aug 20, 2021.

1. Jesper-Nielsen

Jesper-Nielsen

CampsiteCroppedBigLogo.jpg

Welcome to the devlog for Treacherous Journeys, a Multiplayer Online Action RPG I've been developing for around 6 years now.
    It's heavily inspired by classic Action RPGs like Diablo, Torchlight and Path of Exile, but it's multiplayer with a shared world similar to MMORPGs.
    Of course the scope is much smaller than games such as World of Warcraft, which is why I prefer using that term to describe the game, although you might catch me using it as a hashtag...

The client is using Unity of course, while all serverside code is C# / .Net core.
    I plan to go into more details in this thread, and I'll also be happy to answer any questions you might have.
    If you feel like taking a look at it I have a demo on itch.io:

https://treacherousjourneys.itch.io/treacherous-journeys

levelbuilding.jpg

2. Jesper-Nielsen

Jesper-Nielsen

A little bit on the background for the game:
    Back around the turn of the millennium I was playing a lot of MUD - Multi User Dungeon, text based online RPGs - as well as Diablo and of course a lot of other games.
    I first started writing a mud engine in Java but decided to make it an isometric 2D game.
    My own inability to create art for the game as well as me becoming a father in 2004 eventually led to the project being abandoned. I did create a bunch of smaller projects also, like Tetris or Pong clones.
    But this was the game I had always wanted to make and back around 2012 I kinda picked up the pieces and started working on the networking part, rewriting what I remembered from my Java code in C#. I expected to use XNA or OGRE for the client.