Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

WIP: The Rise of Dagon a classic dungeon crawl RPG

Discussion in 'Works In Progress - Archive' started by melkior, Mar 1, 2016.

1. melkior

melkior

My name is Carl Kidwell and I'm an indie developer and The Rise of Dagon is a passion project I started using Unity 4 in April of 2014!

Since launching the project I have come a long way, including at one point entirely swapping to UE4 to evaluate which engine was going to work better for me (hint: Unity won) as well as making the migration from Unity 4.3 to Unity 4.6 with the new UI and then making the migration from 4.6 to 5.x line and bringing PBR workflow to my project, which has really brought things up a notch graphically.

I blog consistently on TigSource and my personal DevBlog if you want regular updates but now that the project is maturing and ready to show to a wider audience up I'll try to post here as well.

First let's take a look at The Rise of Dagon (hereafter ROD) from the first few months compared to today.

Firstly the state of ROD today:

This second shot is back in Unity 4.3 when I was first prototyping level art and attempting to find the right workflow to create walls that looked good with normal maps and such but also had real physical volume behind them.

As you can see things have come a loooong way in the time since I started!

Speaking of how they've come along I - as I mentioned at one point I had fully swapped to UE4. I spent time attempting to bring the two projects to full parity between the two engines so I could make an honest comparison between the two - this is a shot from May of 2014 comparing my two projects at that time: